By at 6:32 PM Sunday, December 4th 2011


New From Mark Lanegan: ‘Gravedigger’s Song’

Mark Lanegan, Music


The seven-year hiatus of a proper solo release from Mark Lanegan is finally coming to a close. Having announced his 7th LP Blues Funeral, and already unveiled new tracks Burning Jacob’s Ladder and Deep Black Vanishing Train, the first single from the record has just been released, in the form of the great Gravedigger’s Song.

Listen to the appropriately-titled single and opening track off Blues Funeral below read the lyrics here, and immediately notice why this is coming out under the “Mark Lanegan Band” moniker.

The single also includes a new mix of Burning Jacob’s Ladder, which will likely be the one included on the album. From what we’ve heard so far, the return to a full-band backing couldn’t be more welcome. Alain Johannes’ production is clearly working very well here, and Jack Irons’ peculiar drumming adds to the song’s eerie atmosphere.

Blues Funeral is scheduled to be released on February 6th, and if you’re anything like us, you’re already damned excited for it. The tracklisting is as follows:

1. The Gravedigger’s Song
2. Bleeding Muddy Water
3. Grey Goes Black
4. St. Louis Elegy
5. Riot in my House
6. Ode to Sad Disco
7. Phantasmagoria Blues
8. Quiver Syndrome
9. Harborview Hospital
10. Leviathan
11. Deep Black Vanishing Train
12. Tiny Grain of Truth

Gravedigger’s Song can be purchased here.


Meanwhile, On The Internet...

  1. Vefhýsing says:

    Looking forward to this!

  2. Mijanou says:

    That song is briliant!
    Thank you!


  3. […] stylistic array than 2004′s Bubblegum. Now, the first single from the album, The Gravedigger’s Song, got an official […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Connect with Facebook

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>