By at 6:40 AM Tuesday, March 26th 2013


QOTSA Name Jon Theodore as New Drummer, ‘…Like Clockwork’ to Also Feature Alex Turner

Queens Of The Stone Age, Music, Studio Reports


After the much-awaited, cryptic announcement of Queens Of The Stone Age‘s sixth LP …Like Clockwork last week, comes a more formal note from the band in the form of a press release. Along with confirmation that the record will be out in June, comes a little bit more of detail.

Described by QOTSA mastermind Josh Homme as “an audio commentary of a manic year,” …Like Clockwork was produced by Homme himself and the band, and recorded at his Pink Duck Studio in California. The bit of actual new information in the release comes via the fact that Arctic Monkeys frontman Alex Turner is also on the record, as well as UNKLE’s James Lavelle.

The album also features three drummers: Dave Grohl, as was previously reported; Joey Castillo, the band’s now-former drummer; and Jon Theodore, who played drums for The Mars Volta on their first three records and accompanying tours, as well as One Day As a Lion with Zack De La Rocha of Rage Against The Machine. The announcement below is cryptic in just how much of a role Theodore plays, but it’s our understanding that he is the current active drummer in Queens Of The Stone Age.

Like Clockwork Press

It’s worth noting that the band’s “official” drummer is still unannounced, as the listed lineup above features only the four members that fans were already aware of – Josh Homme, Troy Van Leeuwen, Michael Shuman and Dean Fertita.


Meanwhile, On The Internet...

  1. qotsaamkw says:

    Turner isn’t much of a surprise but i’m hell stoked about Lavelle. Love the shit Josh did on UNKLE so this will be hell good.

    This album will be epic.

  2. K.C. Douglas says:

    Really like the choice of Theodore. Guess this means the One Day as a Lion LP will really never see the light of day.

  3. Ed says:

    Deceptive article title much? You even said that he’s not confirmed as their new drummer…

  4. Rory Biller says:

    “Extensive world tour” = I’m broke for 2013

  5. Firesquirrel says:

    Jon Theodore is and has been the new drummer for QOTSA since December. Little late to the party, eh gents?

  6. Cam says:

    The amount of guest appearances on this album reminds of me 90’s rap albums that featured a minimum of 3 rappers per song.

  7. This news is fucking awesome.

  8. H. Khaury says:

    No Chris Goss?

  9. Jack says:

    Does anyone know to what extent Alain Johannes is working on this album?

    • Wish bringer says:

      I believe Alain was involved in the early stages of the record but has not been as of late. He posted about it on his twitter I think

  10. Woah this weblog is fantastic i really like reading your articles. Stay up the great work! You realize, many people are hunting around for this information, you could help them greatly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Connect with Facebook

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>